Government

Names:

conventional long form: none

conventional short form: Isle of Man

Digraph: IM

Type: British crown dependency

Capital: Douglas

Administrative divisions: none (British crown dependency)

Independence: none (British crown dependency)

National holiday: Tynwald Day, 5 July

Constitution: 1961, Isle of Man Constitution Act

Legal system: English law and local statute

Suffrage: 21 years of age; universal

Executive branch:

chief of state: Lord of Mann Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Lieutenant Governor Air Marshal Sir Laurence JONES (since NA 1990)

head of government: President of the Legislative Council Sir Charles KERRUISH (since NA 1990)

cabinet: Council of Ministers

Legislative branch: bicameral Tynwald

Legislative Council: consists of a 10-member body composed of the Lord Bishop of Sodor and Man, a nonvoting attorney general, and 8 others named by the House of Keys

House of Keys: elections last held NA 1991 (next to be held NA 1996); results - percent of vote NA; seats - (24 total) independents 24

Judicial branch: Court of Tynwald

Political parties and leaders: there is no party system and members sit as

independents

Member of: none

Diplomatic representation in US: none (British crown dependency)

US diplomatic representation: none (British crown dependency)

Flag: red with the Three Legs of Man emblem (Trinacria), in the center; the three legs are joined at the thigh and bent at the knee; in order to have the toes pointing clockwise on both sides of the flag, a two-sided emblem is used

Defense Forces

